Translated content not available for this page

Indonesia is the largest archipelago in the world, located between mainland Southeast Asia and Australia.

The country consists of approximately 17,000 islands, of which approximately 6,000 are inhabited, and is divided into 27 provinces.

The five principal islands are Java, Kalimantan, Sumatra, Irian Jaya, and Sulawesi, which together account for nearly 92% of the land area.

Bahasa Indonesia, a variation of Malay, is the official language and means ‘language of Indonesia’. English is widely used, especially for business purposes, but knowing a few key words of the local language will be beneficial.


From the giddying heights of Mount Batur to ancient pre-Hindu villages of Tenganan, from the colorful outrigger boats and glittering reefs of Amed,...


Balikpapan, ensconced in a hilly coastal region beneath the towering carapace of rich tropical rainforest, is a major seaport and oil boomtown on the...


Those moving here on an expat salary can expect to live in upmarket housing with large gardens and endless offers of domestic help.


Surabaya, City of Heroes, is tucked into the north shore of eastern Java, flanking the Madura strait. Lounging at the mouth of the Mas River, it is...